You can also vote on which game you want to see as the main event on Sunday!

We’re now a week into the month of July, the last month before the largest fighting game event in the world, Evo 2019, kicks off in Las Vegas, Nevada. Last week, organizer Joey “Mr. Wizard” Cuellar shared the latest registration update for July.
While Super Smash Bros. Ultimate maintains its hold on the top spot, the battle for second place between Tekken 7 and Street Fighter V: Arcade Edition continues, with the two titles even having the same number of entrants at one point. Though it appears the King of Iron Fist has pulled ahead, with SFV falling to the 3rd position.
Evo 2019 Registration Scoreboard July Edition!
1st – Super Smash Bros. Ultimate
2nd – Tekken 7
3rd – Street Fighter V
4th – Samurai Shodown
5th – Mortal Kombat 11
6th – Under Night In Birth
7th – Dragonball FighterZ
8th – Soul Calibur 6
9th – Blazblue: Cross Tag Battle#Evo2019
Joey Cuellar (@MrWiz) July 1, 2019
Perhaps most interestingly though, is that the newly-released Samurai Shodown has surpassed Mortal Kombat 11 to claim 4th place, with Wizard also noting that the game is on pace to surpass the all-time entrants record for King Of Fighters, which is currently held by KOFXIII, which had 1,072 participants at Evo 2012, so things are looking very good for SNK’s revival of the franchise.
Mr. Wizard has also created a Twitter poll asking fans which of the four Sunday games should close out finals day between BlazBlue: Cross Tag Battle, Tekken 7, Street Fighter V: Arcade Edition and Super Smash Bros. Ultimate. The poll concludes tomorrow.
What should be the FINAL game on Sunday at #Evo2019?
Joey Cuellar (@MrWiz) July 2, 2019
If you’re looking to get in on the action yourself, there’s still time, but it’s quickly running out, as registration closes this Sunday, July 14th, at 8:00 P.M. PDT. (10:00 P.M. CST, 11:00 P.M. EST), so head over to smash.gg as soon as possible.
Registration closes in ONE WEEK — July 14, 2019 at 8PM PDT!
Register for the event https://t.co/5eVSjs83Wm
Book your stay at the event venue https://t.co/fUv5MtbGRG
Secure your tickets for our Sunday finals! https://t.co/2kHxSfkp5v
See you at #EVO2019! pic.twitter.com/TLkoAYLEEP
EVO (@EVO) July 8, 2019
Evo 2019 takes place August 2nd-4th at the Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Source: Mr. Wizard (Twitter); Evo (Twitter)


More...